Home Away from Home, Part 2


I’ve been asked to give a little bit more information on where I’m staying.  If you missed the first post about where I’m staying, you can find it here.  First, I will describe my room a little bit.  I have a room to myself and have my own bathroom (toilet, shower, and sink).  The room has two beds–one is twin sized, and the other is maybe as big as a full.  I’ve been sleeping on the full-sized bed because it’s bigger and the bed net (a mosquito net you sleep under, even if you are sleeping indoors) is a little easier to manage.  However, I’ve been thinking about switching to the twin sized bed because the mattress is thicker.  We’ll see…I’ve been enjoying the space.  I have two small closets.  I’m using one for clothes and the other for toiletries and odds and ends.  The closets have built in shelves, which are nice for storage.  I have a few hangers, and so I reserve those for the things that really do need to be hung up.  There are two desks built into the wall with chairs.  I also have a coffee table in the middle of the room, an end table, and two other random chairs.  It’s actually kind of a lot of furniture for the space, considering it’s just me in the room.

In terms of who all is staying there, I haven’t really figured it all out.  I know some of the staff live there, but in terms of guests, it seems like there are mostly adults or families.  This past weekend, the place was pretty busy with a conference, but it’s much quieter, and I don’t have all the demographics of the “normal guest” quite figured out.  I think there are also some high school aged girls who live there (I think there is an actual dorm).  The staff I know seem to be very friendly and helpful for the most part.  Many of them speak at least a little bit of English, and so I can usually figure out the answers to any questions I have.

I usually eat breakfast and dinner at the center, but I’m looking to expand my options, for variety sake.  The breakfast is usually tea and some sort of fried bread.  There are a few options available for dinner, but they are limited.  I usually get chicken and rice of some sort (which also comes with some sort of veg/green and beans).  I’ve come to really like ugali (oo-gah-lee), which is made from maize and the consistency of polenta.  You role it into little balls and use it to scoop up the veg or beans.  I’m not sure if I can get that at the center, and so I need to find someplace that I can.  Once I figure out where all the markets are and get just a little bit more Swahili under my belt, I’ll probably try to get some food to keep in my room.  However, I don’t have space to store anything perishable.  So, I would be a little limited.  I’m planning on using part of this weekend to do a little bit more exploring.

Leave a Reply

Summer Teach

Summer has never been the same

Nzima

Finding Wholeness

Accidental Racist

It happens to the best of us

Black Bean Queen

Running, healthy living, & (mostly) healthy vegetarian food

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

The Science Geek

Astronomy, space and space travel for the non scientist

BY Movement

Beautiful You

Ice Ice Andrew

Life can be boring and overwhelming. Hopefully, I'm not.

Dear Men

Letters from a Lady

Ann K. Emery

I design information and share my strategies through keynotes and custom workshops.

Heart of a Warrior

Constantly looking to be challenged and a place to move forward. A writer, a seeker at heart and always on the move for God.

The Personal Blog of Zack Kanter

My thoughts on personal development, relationships, and business

Ask the Deaf Writer

Ask me what you want to know, if I don't know, I'll be sure to find the answer one way or another.

Body Language

body . soul . spirit .... and other stuff

God in Voiceless World

A Deaf girl in the making in the heart of our nation's Capitol.

.... rawbananie ....

Rob and Annie's Awesome Adventure Blog

100 Ways

to lose, to live, to love

