Bug Spray and Bed Nets


Believe it or not, I am just a few days away from getting on a plane to Tanzania.  I can still hardly believe it myself.  I’m at the point where I think I have everything I need and I am nearly packed.  Packing for this trip has been vastly different than packing for Romania.  I have some things I have packed less of this go around, and some things I’ve packed more of.  Plus, I’m gearing up for mosquitoes and sun.  I have three big bottle of permethrin, which is an insecticide you can spray on your clothes.

I hope it lasts me long enough.  Plus, I have regular bug spray and a mosquito net for my bed.  By the end, I will be a pro at warding off mosquitoes and biting flies.  I also hope I have plenty of sunscreen packed.  I’ll mainly need it for my face and ears, and so it should last.  I’ll be wearing lots of long skirts (for cultural reasons), and I’ll probably end up wearing long sleeves lots of days to protect from both sun and bugs.  I’m planning on the weather being a little bit of a shock, but, having lived in the South for most of my life, I’m pretty used to hot and humid.  The temperatures will range from highs in the 80s/90s to lows in the 60s.

I think I have everything I need.  If there’s something I’m missing, I won’t know until I get there.

I have a few things I need to get done tonight in order to leave for DC in the morning.  However, it shouldn’t be too much.

Once I get to Tanzania, I don’t know what my internet situation will be.  I know I will have internet at some point, but it may not be everyday, or it may not be outside of the office.  If it’s cheap enough, I may be able to buy a prepaid data plan for wifi.  It won’t be fast, but it will at least let me check email.  I’m sure the people there will help me get it all set up.

One comment

  1. Safe travels sweet girl.

Leave a Reply

Summer Teach

Summer has never been the same

Nzima

Finding Wholeness

Accidental Racist

It happens to the best of us

Black Bean Queen

Running, healthy living, & (mostly) healthy vegetarian food

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

The Science Geek

Astronomy, space and space travel for the non scientist

BY Movement

Beautiful You

Ice Ice Andrew

Life can be boring and overwhelming. Hopefully, I'm not.

Dear Men

Letters from a Lady

Ann K. Emery

I design information and share my strategies through keynotes and custom workshops.

Heart of a Warrior

Constantly looking to be challenged and a place to move forward. A writer, a seeker at heart and always on the move for God.

The Personal Blog of Zack Kanter

My thoughts on personal development, relationships, and business

Ask the Deaf Writer

Ask me what you want to know, if I don't know, I'll be sure to find the answer one way or another.

Body Language

body . soul . spirit .... and other stuff

God in Voiceless World

A Deaf girl in the making in the heart of our nation's Capitol.

.... rawbananie ....

Rob and Annie's Awesome Adventure Blog

100 Ways

to lose, to live, to love

