The Missing Posts


Wow, it’s a little embarrassing how long it has been since my last post.  I haven’t forgotten about this blog, and I’ve had several ideas for posts milling around my head, but just haven’t had the chance to sit down and write them.  I thought I would give you a little bit of an overview on what you’ve been missing because you haven’t been living inside my head.

  • Getting out of the “Friend Zone” (On Being Single, part whatever number comes next in the series)–basically, I was going to complain about always being put in the “Friend Zone.”  Be glad I didn’t actually write this one.  I was particularly frustrated on the day I was thinking about this, and it probably would have been a hot mess.  Plus, “always” would have been incorrect.
  • The Truth Behind What Not to Wear–I recently watched an episode of What Not to Wear with my mom.  If you haven’t seen the show, basically a woman gets nominated by her friends and family to be on the show because she desperately needs a makeover.  Many of the women who end up on the show have low self-esteem and don’t believe they are capable of looking good.  The show is actually very uplifting.  Even though the hosts are helping women find good looking clothes, they are also very affirming in non-shallow ways and really focus on helping the women see themselves as beautiful.  On the episode I saw recently, one of the hosts said something along the lines of, “Every woman is born with a story of wanting to be beautiful.”  The sentiment is true and profound, and I was going to write about every woman’s desire to feel beautiful and the fact that many of us women completely miss how beautiful we actually are.  If I had written this post when I first thought of it, it might have turned out alright.
  • Comfort in the Quiet–Of the three, this is the post I should have written, and may write at a future time.  I’ve been going to an Episcopal service on Wednesday nights, and it has been really good.  I know I’ve mentioned it in my last post, but it has been a while.  These services really are a hidden gem.  They are quiet, intimate, and beautiful. I wish I had more time to get to know the people, who all seem to be quite amazing.  In these services, I catch glimpses of the Mystery.  There is a certain comfort found in the orthodoxy, most likely because the people there value and find meaning in the ritual.  We say the Prayer of St. Francis every week, which is both convicting and comforting.  It is a place to “be still and know,” and you are able to be still because of the Peace in the atmosphere.  Well, I meant to give a short overview, and I gave a much longer description than I intended.  I guess this means the real post would have been very, very long.

I am going to leave you with the Prayer of St. Francis.

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace,
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is doubt, faith;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light;
Where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.
Leave a Reply

Summer Teach

Summer has never been the same

Nzima

Finding Wholeness

Accidental Racist

It happens to the best of us

Black Bean Queen

Running, vegetarian food, & navigating life as a newlywed

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

The Science Geek

Astronomy, space and space travel for the non scientist

BY Movement

Beautiful You

Ice Ice Andrew

Life can be boring and overwhelming. Hopefully, I'm not.

Dear Men

Letters from a Lady

Ann K. Emery

I design information and share my strategies through keynotes and custom workshops.

Heart of a Warrior

Constantly looking to be challenged and a place to move forward. A writer, a seeker at heart and always on the move for God.

The Personal Blog of Zack Kanter

My thoughts on personal development, relationships, and business

Ask the Deaf Writer

Ask me what you want to know, if I don't know, I'll be sure to find the answer one way or another.

Body Language

body . soul . spirit .... and other stuff

God in Voiceless World

A Deaf girl in the making in the heart of our nation's Capitol.

.... rawbananie ....

Rob and Annie's Awesome Adventure Blog

100 Ways

to lose, to live, to love

