(Not so) Hidden Doors


I think it’s important to learn something new everyday.  It doesn’t have to be a life altering piece of information–it doesn’t even have to be helpful, but we should always be learning.  I think this sentiment is especially true when you are traveling or living abroad.  If you didn’t learn something new about the city or culture, then chances are you weren’t really engaged with your surroundings that particular day.

Today, I got lucky.  I learned something new AND helpful!  Want to know what it is?  I learned how to get out of the building when the clinic is on lock-down/closed to outpatients!  Though, I am probably one of the lucky…2 or 3.  I can guarantee you 10,000 people did not learn this piece of information today.

You see, there is a back door of sorts.  I’m sure this is the door the doctors normally come in.    The sad/unfortunate thing about this door is it was standing wide open.  Someone could have easily walked right in.  You would only have to know to walk past the main door and around the corner of the building.  I feel I should make some deep metaphor about “walking around the corner” to find the “hidden door” and opening up secrets and new possibilities in life, but I’m feeling a little bit lazy.  I think you can come up with your own metaphor for life.  If you have a good one, feel free to share!

 

(PS, the comic is from xkcd.  Be sure to view it on the actual website because xkcd comics always have excellent “roll over” text [put your mouse over the image and leave it there and text magically appears])

Leave a Reply

Summer Teach

Summer has never been the same

Nzima

Finding Wholeness

Accidental Racist

It happens to the best of us

Black Bean Queen

Running, healthy living, & (mostly) healthy vegetarian food

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

The Science Geek

Astronomy, space and space travel for the non scientist

BY Movement

Beautiful You

Ice Ice Andrew

Life can be boring and overwhelming. Hopefully, I'm not.

Dear Men

Letters from a Lady

Ann K. Emery

I design information and share my strategies through keynotes and custom workshops.

Heart of a Warrior

Constantly looking to be challenged and a place to move forward. A writer, a seeker at heart and always on the move for God.

The Personal Blog of Zack Kanter

My thoughts on personal development, relationships, and business

Ask the Deaf Writer

Ask me what you want to know, if I don't know, I'll be sure to find the answer one way or another.

Body Language

body . soul . spirit .... and other stuff

God in Voiceless World

A Deaf girl in the making in the heart of our nation's Capitol.

.... rawbananie ....

Rob and Annie's Awesome Adventure Blog

100 Ways

to lose, to live, to love

