Wanderings


Today I went out and took some pictures of the city.  The weather for the past couple of days has just been absolutely beautiful, and I wanted to take advantage of the opportunity.  I actually didn’t see very much of the city because I took my time in a small area.  I originally had planned to document my walk to work, but I’m glad I changed the plan up.  Otherwise, I would have missed most of what I saw today.

Part of today’s walk consisted on going down some streets I hadn’t been down yet, which was a lot of fun.  One of the streets I ventured down was one with, what I thought was, a small market.  It turns out this market winds down several blocks.  Once you get to the end, it suddenly opens up to this area with several cafes with outdoor seating.  I really look forward to going back to that spot, taking a book, getting a latte, and sitting outside.  It’s the kind of place that gives you the feeling that only locals know about that spot (which may not be true at all, but it’s a nice sentiment).

A little further on, I found the McDonalds (not the only one in town, but the one closest to me).  So, I stopped in for a burger and fries.  Today was probably the first time I had eaten at a McDonalds since being in Ukraine, and so it tasted pretty good to me.  The Coke, however, did not.  For those of you who have traveled (or have been to the Coke Museam in Atlanta), you know that Coke tastes different in different countries.  Apparently, Coke in Romania is not that great.  I am curious to buy a bottle of it at some point and see if bottled is the same as fountain (and by the same, I mean just as bad).

After I ate, I was ready to head home.  I knew how to get back, but I wasn’t 100% sure of where I was or what the most direct route would be.  I pulled out my iPod to look at the map (since McDonalds has free WiFi).  I was a lot close to home than I realized, and the road running alongside the building was one that would spit me out about a block away from home.  It was a road I pass on a daily basis but had never actually been down.  Walking down this road, I found a Carrefour, which is a grocery store.  It’s a lot closer to the one I had been going to, and so I was really glad to find it.

After going home and uploading pictures to facebook, I went back to the Carrefour with my shopping bag.  It definitely has most of the essentials, but I will probably still have to go to the Auchan, which is more like a Walmart, from time to time.  However, I won’t have to go there every time.  Plus, there were a few things that I had been looking for (like paprika flavored crackers and the mini-chocolate filled croissants), which the Auchan didn’t have.  The other thing I liked about this Carrefour is the music playing in the store was all late 90’s early 2000’s–music from my teen years (early Cheryl Crow, Brittany Spears, Backstreet Boys).  Other than Cheryl Crow, the music isn’t good…but it reminds me of happy/awkward times and I still know all the words.  I know there are other Carrefours in town, and one of which is at a mall.  So, I’m curious if the other ones in town are larger.  I will have to check the one in the mall out at some point to see.

3 comments

  1. […] This post is not about Romania. If you want to read about my travels, read what I wrote yesterday or stay tuned for more later in the week)  ‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great […]

  2. Hey Quinn this is an awesome blog! Hope you meet my friends the Deceans.

    When you go to the mall, check out the Pizza Hut, it’s alike a gourmet restaurant there. Pretty amazing.

    Domnuzeul Binecuventze ! (God bless you!

    1. Rob-
      Thanks so much for connecting us!

Leave a Reply

Summer Teach

Summer has never been the same

Nzima

Finding Wholeness

Accidental Racist

It happens to the best of us

Black Bean Queen

Running, healthy living, & (mostly) healthy vegetarian food

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

The Science Geek

Astronomy, space and space travel for the non scientist

BY Movement

Beautiful You

Ice Ice Andrew

Life can be boring and overwhelming. Hopefully, I'm not.

Dear Men

Letters from a Lady

Ann K. Emery

I design information and share my strategies through keynotes and custom workshops.

Heart of a Warrior

Constantly looking to be challenged and a place to move forward. A writer, a seeker at heart and always on the move for God.

The Personal Blog of Zack Kanter

My thoughts on personal development, relationships, and business

Ask the Deaf Writer

Ask me what you want to know, if I don't know, I'll be sure to find the answer one way or another.

Body Language

body . soul . spirit .... and other stuff

God in Voiceless World

A Deaf girl in the making in the heart of our nation's Capitol.

.... rawbananie ....

Rob and Annie's Awesome Adventure Blog

100 Ways

to lose, to live, to love

