(An Attempt at) Checking Things Off the List


As for any big trip, I have a long, long list of things to be done before leaving: packing, moving stuff into storage (aka a friend’s attic), buying a few necessities, deciding which movies to burn/pack, completing the endless mound of paper work for GW. etc.  In a few weeks, I may have a frantic post about getting people to mail me some important item I’ve accidentally left behind or didn’t pack enough of (like real toilet paper).

Sidenote–if you do want to sent me snail mail or packages while I’m away (which would be greatly appreciated), let me know.  I can tell you my exact mailing address once I know what it is–I do have a place to stay, just don’t know the mailing address yet.

One item on my list is to find a church to attend while I’m in Cluj.  For me, having good community is essential.  The hardest times in my life were those in which I didn’t have good community.  Since being in DC, I have found a great church, made lots of friends who will be greatly missed (and who better skype with me while I’m gone!!), and found a community in which I feel I really belong.  My life centers around these people whom I love dearly and who love me.  Even though I wll only be in Cluj for a few months, it would be pretty lonely to not have anyone to connect with spiritually.

So, I set about to do what any modern American would do–hit up Google.  I tried several different searches, and I really wasn’t finding anything.  Romania has lots of Orthodox churches, but I was hoping that would be my last resort seeing I’m not Orthodox and would be having to learn all the rituals.  In addition, some of my theology just really doesn’t line up with orthodoxy.  They are a part of my same body and are my brothers and sisters, but I don’t know if I would feel free to share some of my inner most thoughts and experiences.  The same goes with the Evangelical Lutheran, Independent Baptist…

I was starting to give up–not give up on finding a church, but give up on finding it online.  But, then I stumbled upon the website for the YWAM base in Cluj.  Just knowing there is a YWAM base there puts me at ease.  I know I will be able to find something churchwise.  I just emailed them today to let them know I am coming and interested in connecting with them while I’m there.  Obviously, because of them time difference, I won’t get a response today.  However, I am eager about getting some sort of response soon.  Of course, I’ll let you know if/when I do.

Leave a Reply

Summer Teach

Summer has never been the same

Nzima

Finding Wholeness

Accidental Racist

It happens to the best of us

Black Bean Queen

Running, vegetarian food, & navigating life as a newlywed

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

The Science Geek

Astronomy, space and space travel for the non scientist

BY Movement

Beautiful You

Ice Ice Andrew

Life can be boring and overwhelming. Hopefully, I'm not.

Dear Men

Letters from a Lady

Ann K. Emery

I design information and share my strategies through keynotes and custom workshops.

Heart of a Warrior

Constantly looking to be challenged and a place to move forward. A writer, a seeker at heart and always on the move for God.

The Personal Blog of Zack Kanter

My thoughts on personal development, relationships, and business

Ask the Deaf Writer

Ask me what you want to know, if I don't know, I'll be sure to find the answer one way or another.

Body Language

body . soul . spirit .... and other stuff

God in Voiceless World

A Deaf girl in the making in the heart of our nation's Capitol.

.... rawbananie ....

Rob and Annie's Awesome Adventure Blog

100 Ways

to lose, to live, to love

