Searching


In case you haven’t heard, I will be in Cluj, Romania this fall doing research for my Master’s thesis.

Over the last few days I have been focused on finding down a place to live in Cluj while I’m there.  I’ve spent hours looking through pictures, etc, trying to find something that looks like it might be doable.  I’ve had to search for an apartment long distance before.  When I moved to DC, I had about two weeks to find someplace, but I was in Atlanta and wouldn’t be able to see the place until I arrived.  The day before I moved, I even switched locations and got a refund on a deposit I had already put down.  The whole process was very stressful for me, my future roommate, and my family.  Not knowing what the property will be like, if the neighborhood is safe, etc, can be very scary.

That stress, however, seems like nothing compared to looking for someplace in another country.  Much of it is the same (have to trust pictures, not knowing the neighborhood, etc).  The biggest difference is I knew someone personally who lived in DC and who could give me pointers about neighborhoods.  Just knowing I could call someone if I had a problem makes things much less stressful.

For those of you starting to freak out, this is the point you can stop.  First of all, I do have multiple contacts in Cluj.  I’m certain they would be willing to help me if any problems arose.  Second, one of those contacts has offered to help me find someplace suitable.  So, what was feeling like an extremely stressful situation is starting to fall into place.  I am very grateful for the help they have offered.  I definitely am starting to feel much more at peace.  The next few months are going to be such a wonderful experience.  I am looking forward to telling you all about it, posting pictures, and actually doing my research.

Leave a Reply

Summer Teach

Summer has never been the same

Nzima

Finding Wholeness

Accidental Racist

It happens to the best of us

Black Bean Queen

Running, healthy living, & (mostly) healthy vegetarian food

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

The Science Geek

Astronomy, space and space travel for the non scientist

BY Movement

Beautiful You

Ice Ice Andrew

Life can be boring and overwhelming. Hopefully, I'm not.

Dear Men

Letters from a Lady

Ann K. Emery

I design information and share my strategies through keynotes and custom workshops.

Heart of a Warrior

Constantly looking to be challenged and a place to move forward. A writer, a seeker at heart and always on the move for God.

The Personal Blog of Zack Kanter

My thoughts on personal development, relationships, and business

Ask the Deaf Writer

Ask me what you want to know, if I don't know, I'll be sure to find the answer one way or another.

Body Language

body . soul . spirit .... and other stuff

God in Voiceless World

A Deaf girl in the making in the heart of our nation's Capitol.

.... rawbananie ....

Rob and Annie's Awesome Adventure Blog

100 Ways

to lose, to live, to love

