Bruised


In the last few days, I think I have explained the phrase “It’s like riding a bike” multiple times because I’ve gone bike riding a couple times (once through east Amsterdam, and once through Hoofddorp and a park).  This particular phrase certainly applies to me.  I don’t remember the last time I rode a bike, much less rode a bike any distance farther than the length of my parent’s yard.  To everyone’s surprise (including myself), I haven’t forgotten how to ride.  Admittedly, my starts and stops aren’t particularly graceful.  Once I get going, though, you would never know that it’s probably been a decade or more since my last real bike ride.

On one of these bike rides, though, I used an older bike, which did not have much padding on the seat.  The result?  One bruised bottom.

Feel free to laugh.

 

However, I think my bruised behind is an excellent analogy for life.  (Feel free to roll your eyes.)  I think we all have activities we used to do, but have stopped for whatever reason.  Whether it be bike riding, crocheting,  jogging, daily prayer, etc, the idea of getting back on the band wagon can seem intimidating, and the first attempt can be painful and discouraging, if you let it.  There is a period of time in which starting back up is hard.  It’s hard to start jogging again if you haven’t jogged in a long time.  It’s hard to start daily prayer/worship if you have gotten out of the habit of doing so.

What we tend to forget, though, is the battle is in the mind.  Sure, if you restart an excercise regimen, your muscles will be sore, and you may have physical pain.  Yet, it is in our mind where we decide whether or not its worth it to work through the pain to do something that is healthy for our physical body.  When you restart prayer, worship, scripture reading, you may not have physical pain.  However, you may face discouragement.  It can be difficult to adjust your schedule, realign your priorities, or even find the desire to do these things.  Again, it’s in your mind where you decide, ultimately, that the importance of these activities override any discouragement.

You might get a bruised bottom in the process, but bruises heal and disappear.  Before you know it, you’ll be riding like an ole pro.

 

What can you do today to make your life better?  What have you done in the past and stopped that you can take today as the first day to get back to it?  How can you stretch yourself, physically or spiritually?

Leave a Reply

Summer Teach

Summer has never been the same

Nzima

Finding Wholeness

Accidental Racist

It happens to the best of us

Black Bean Queen

Running, vegetarian food, & navigating life as a newlywed

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

The Science Geek

Astronomy, space and space travel for the non scientist

BY Movement

Beautiful You

Ice Ice Andrew

Life can be boring and overwhelming. Hopefully, I'm not.

Dear Men

Letters from a Lady

Ann K. Emery

I design information and share my strategies through keynotes and custom workshops.

Heart of a Warrior

Constantly looking to be challenged and a place to move forward. A writer, a seeker at heart and always on the move for God.

The Personal Blog of Zack Kanter

My thoughts on personal development, relationships, and business

Ask the Deaf Writer

Ask me what you want to know, if I don't know, I'll be sure to find the answer one way or another.

Body Language

body . soul . spirit .... and other stuff

God in Voiceless World

A Deaf girl in the making in the heart of our nation's Capitol.

.... rawbananie ....

Rob and Annie's Awesome Adventure Blog

100 Ways

to lose, to live, to love

