More Shopping


One of the aspects of planning for travel about which I am constantly surprised is the amount of shopping needed.  I’m sure that I’m probably over shopping, but I’d rather have something and not need it than not have it at all, right?  Some of the items on my list for today are legitimate purchases.

Bug Spray–I’ve heard the mosquitoes are terrible.  Plus, I just took a class on vector born diseases, and would like to avoid mosquitoes in general, regardless of my location.

Kleenex–Toilet paper (that won’t leave you raw) isn’t always available.  A travel pack of Kleenex for the day is easier to carry than a roll of toilet paper.  (Kleenex was highly recommended by Caleb and Ashley)

Sunscreen–I don’t think I need to explain

Some items on my list may seem a little ridiculous, but I’d rather have it and not need it.

Iodine–If I or someone I know gets bitten by a rabid animal, we’ll need iodine.**  While no one is planning on handling bats or petting a dog foaming at the mouth, you never know what’s going to happen, and we will be spending some time in a rural area.  You can laugh, but when I was at the travel clinic, the nurse pounded into me how to treat a rabid animal bite (she even quizzed me before I left!).  So, I will be taking a small bottle of iodine to put in my first aid kit.

While reading this list, you may also be wondering why I’m shopping for everything so soon.  Well, part of the reason is I am trying to be prepared so I’m not completely stressed and running around like a chicken with my head cut off the last few days. The other/main reason is I’m leaving for vacation on Wednesday and won’t get back until the 25th, which would only leave me five days, essentially, to do my laundry, repack, and shop.  Plus, I know I am going to have at least 3 meetings to attend that week, and so my time is going to be limited.  Anything I can get before Wednesday, I will.

Where am I going on vacation?  EVERYWHERE!!  Ok, ok.  That’s not true.  I will be going to Amsterdam, Budapest, London, and maybe a couple of other places, depending on how scheduling works out.  I also have to do a little bit of shopping for this trip as well, but I’ll mainly be purchasing gifts to give to people I’ll be visiting.

 

**If you ever get a bite from an animal which may have rabies, scrub the wound with soap for 15 minutes.  Apply iodine and seek medical attention as soon as possible.  Rabies is fatal if left untreated.

 

Leave a Reply

Summer Teach

Summer has never been the same

Nzima

Finding Wholeness

Accidental Racist

It happens to the best of us

Black Bean Queen

Running, vegetarian food, & navigating life as a newlywed

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

The Science Geek

Astronomy, space and space travel for the non scientist

BY Movement

Beautiful You

Ice Ice Andrew

Life can be boring and overwhelming. Hopefully, I'm not.

Dear Men

Letters from a Lady

Ann K. Emery

I design information and share my strategies through keynotes and custom workshops.

Heart of a Warrior

Constantly looking to be challenged and a place to move forward. A writer, a seeker at heart and always on the move for God.

The Personal Blog of Zack Kanter

My thoughts on personal development, relationships, and business

Ask the Deaf Writer

Ask me what you want to know, if I don't know, I'll be sure to find the answer one way or another.

Body Language

body . soul . spirit .... and other stuff

God in Voiceless World

A Deaf girl in the making in the heart of our nation's Capitol.

.... rawbananie ....

Rob and Annie's Awesome Adventure Blog

100 Ways

to lose, to live, to love

