Weakness


I have many weaknesses.  One of them is particularly pertinent to this blog, the upcoming trip, and what I want to do with my life in general: asking for help.  For reasons I won’t go into at this point, I decided at an early age that I just needed to figure things out myself–if I can do it myself, I shouldn’t bother other people.

Obviously, my thinking is flawed here.  I realize this, and, yet, it is still a challenge for me to admit that I actually need help.  You can ask my best friend, Annie, if you don’t believe me or want examples of situations.  Ultimately, it comes down to whether or not I trust God to actually provide or other people to come through.  Matthew 7:7-8 says

Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

While I have had many amazing doors opened to me in my life, I feel there are some that have not simply because I did not trust God enough to ask.  Sometimes I wonder why certain things haven’t happened in my life.  Yes, a lot of it depends on God’s timing.  However, more times than we (or I) realize, God is saying, “I can’t catch you if you don’t jump.”

Which brings me back to Matthew 7.  Seek, ask, knock.  You can’t find the door if you don’t look, and you’ll probably need to stop for directions along the way.  Once you find it, though, no one is going to know you are there and would like to go in if you don’t knock.  In the grand scheme of things, God can to whatever He likes.  He doesn’t need us to quest about for Him to be able to open doors.  We, on the other hand, do need to process of asking, seeking, and knocking.  Do we have faith that the door will even be there?  Do we have faith to find it?  And, do we actually trust God to put what we need on the other side?  I think we need to go through this process for the little things in our life so that we will trust God for the bigger things.

Sometimes, I let fear get in the way.  I’m afraid of what’s on the other side of the door.  Either it won’t be what I asked for, it will be a cheap version of what I asked for, or there just simply won’t be anything there at all.  For this reason, it’s important to keep reading and not stop at verse 8.  Verses 9-11 are as equally important.

Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone?  Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake?  If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

God gives good gifts.  Period.  He doesn’t give cheap imitations, like stone instead of bread, and he doesn’t give the opposite of what we need, like a snake instead of a fish.

You may be wondering what I need help with.  If you’ve read some of the other pages on this blog, then you already know at least one thing, but if this is the first post you’ve ever read, you may no know.  So, I’m going to lay it out straight.

  1. Finances–I need money for this trip.  I hate, hate, HATE asking people for money.  But, right now, I’m asking you to consider supporting me financially.  You can give online by clicking the “Donate” button on the right side of the page, or you can email me at i61contact@gmail.com if you would prefer to donate by check.  The trip costs $2500.  I technically have the money in my bank account, but I have been offered a really exciting opportunity for the fall (details coming soon), which also has some unforeseen expenses.   So, having this missions trip partially or fully funded is going to help me immensely come August and September.
  2. Prayer–Prayer probably should have been number 1 on the list, but I’ll just say now the list is not in order of importance.  I am also traveling for most of June.  So, the majority of my preparations for the Ukraine trip needs to happen in the next two weeks.  On top of that, I also have to finalize many of the details for my thesis in the next two weeks.  I need prayer for energy, strategy to get everything accomplished. peace so I’m not completely stressed out these next two weeks, strategy for knowing to whom I should send my support letter, and divine wisdom/knowledge/etc to make sure I don’t forget anything important.  I’ll also need prayer for safety, good health, and favor leading up to and during the trip (July 1-11).
  3. Getting the word out–Because I will be gone most of June and am super busy the next two weeks, I need help getting my support letter out.  If you know of anyone who might be interested in supporting me financially or through prayer, please pass this blog along to them, regardless of whether or not they know me.  A great place to start would be sending them my support letter, which you can find here.  If you need more details about the trip, you can read the other posts in the “Ukraine” category, ask a question in the comment box on any post on this blog, or email me on i61contact@gmail.com.  I’m happy to answer any question about who I am, where I’ll be going, what I’ll be doing, where the money goes, etc.
Leave a Reply

Summer Teach

Summer has never been the same

Nzima

Finding Wholeness

Accidental Racist

It happens to the best of us

Black Bean Queen

Running, healthy living, & (mostly) healthy vegetarian food

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

The Science Geek

Astronomy, space and space travel for the non scientist

BY Movement

Beautiful You

Ice Ice Andrew

Life can be boring and overwhelming. Hopefully, I'm not.

Dear Men

Letters from a Lady

Ann K. Emery

I design information and share my strategies through keynotes and custom workshops.

Heart of a Warrior

Constantly looking to be challenged and a place to move forward. A writer, a seeker at heart and always on the move for God.

The Personal Blog of Zack Kanter

My thoughts on personal development, relationships, and business

Ask the Deaf Writer

Ask me what you want to know, if I don't know, I'll be sure to find the answer one way or another.

Body Language

body . soul . spirit .... and other stuff

God in Voiceless World

A Deaf girl in the making in the heart of our nation's Capitol.

.... rawbananie ....

Rob and Annie's Awesome Adventure Blog

100 Ways

to lose, to live, to love

