A Little about Me


I thought I would take a moment to tell you all who I am and why I created this blog.  If you want to read more about what the phrase iSixtyOne means, you can do so here.  I’m guessing I haven’t talked to some of you in a long time and others may find this blog through a friend or by accident.  I thought it might be helpful for you all to know what’s going on in my life.

I live in Washington, DC and loving every minute of it.  Though, I do miss my family and try to get down to see them as much as my budget and schedule allow.  I’m working on a Masters in Public Health at George Washington University, and my concentration is Global Health–Design, Monitoring, and Evaluation (or DME for short).  DME is basically designing health programs, collecting the data you need to ensure the program is staying on track, and then analyzing that data to see if the program accomplished its goals and why or why not.  I have finished my coursework, and this next fall and spring will be focused on completing my thesis and an internship.  Then, I can graduate!!  I’m interested in Eastern Europe/former Soviet Union, especially issues relating access to healthcare among the poor and minorities, mental health–substance abuse and youth suicide, and children’s health.  After I graduate, my plan is to get a job, hopefully in DC, relating to public health.  The government has many positions, and most of the big nonprofits which have health programs have offices in DC.  So, God willing, I should be able to find something here.

While in school, I’ve been keeping myself pretty busy.  Each semester, I teach several chemistry labs to make some extra money.  It’s also great public speaking practice.  I’m also very involved in my church, Capital City Church.  I’ve met my closest friends in DC through church, and I’ve been involved in a number of ministry teams and service projects.

I’m originally from Nashville, and all of my immediate family still lives there.  I went to college at Agnes Scott College in Atlanta and received my BA in Chemistry in 2007.  After I graduated, I stayed in Atlanta for three years.  During the first year, I worked at a children’s bookstore in Alpharetta.  It was a great fresh-out-of-school-not-entirely-sure-what-I-want-to-do-with-myself job.  I had a great time and I learned a lot.  Then, I worked for two years as a teaching assistant in the chemistry department back at Agnes.  By that time, I knew it was time to move on to the next chapter of my life, and so I moved up to DC for school.

I created this blog so I can keep friends, family, and others informed about current and upcoming travels, and the humanitarian work, missions, and research I will be doing on these trips.  I will also be writing about why this work is important to me and other insights to why my faith motivates me to do this work.

Hopefully, that will give you the short run on what I’ve been up to the last few years.  If you don’t know me or if we haven’t spoken in a long time, I hope you will continue to read this blog to find out more about who I am as a person, my personal mission and beliefs, and upcoming international projects.

Leave a Reply

Summer Teach

Summer has never been the same

Nzima

Finding Wholeness

Accidental Racist

It happens to the best of us

Black Bean Queen

Running, healthy living, & (mostly) healthy vegetarian food

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

The Science Geek

Astronomy, space and space travel for the non scientist

BY Movement

Beautiful You

Ice Ice Andrew

Life can be boring and overwhelming. Hopefully, I'm not.

Dear Men

Letters from a Lady

Ann K. Emery

I design information and share my strategies through keynotes and custom workshops.

Heart of a Warrior

Constantly looking to be challenged and a place to move forward. A writer, a seeker at heart and always on the move for God.

The Personal Blog of Zack Kanter

My thoughts on personal development, relationships, and business

Ask the Deaf Writer

Ask me what you want to know, if I don't know, I'll be sure to find the answer one way or another.

Body Language

body . soul . spirit .... and other stuff

God in Voiceless World

A Deaf girl in the making in the heart of our nation's Capitol.

.... rawbananie ....

Rob and Annie's Awesome Adventure Blog

100 Ways

to lose, to live, to love

